Ouagadougou is the political capital of Burkina Faso, founded in the 11th century by the Nyonyonsés. Its current population is estimated to exceed 22 million by 2022. Ouagadougou is located roughly in the center of the country, in the province of Kadiogo, in the middle of an intertropical zone with a tropical savannah climate, with two seasons: the dry season and the rainy season.
Ouagadougou’s inhabitants are known as Ouagalais.